The Statistics Fan Club Has Been Cancelled

I can’t say that I am a big fan of statistics. In pursuit of an RN-to-BSN degree at Penn State, I have a short list of classes that I need to take. I will say that the particular professor that is teaching this section is doing a remarkable job in his attempt to make it interesting and applicable to nursing.

I have really been making an effort to drum up as much enthusiasm for the topic. While I get that I must understand the basics of statistics to sift through data in a profession that emphasizes ‘evidence-based practice;’ I can’t wait until it is over.

p.s. One of the things that makes it frustrating to learn statistics is that I am consistently finding keywords that are NOT listed in the index. I believe that this must be part of some tacit effort by statisticians to keep its sacred knowledge hidden to others.

Leave a Reply

