5 Things: Five Of My Favorite Albums

In no particular order:

1) Peter Gabriel’s So album.

2) R.E.M.’s Life’s Rich Pageant album

3) Suzanne Vega’s (self-titled) first album

4) Godspell Soundtrack (1971 Off-Broadway Cast)

5) The Damned’s Phantasmagoria album

Looking at these, I do see a pattern. Well, except for the Godspell album. The rest of the listed albums came out in 1985/1986.  I have owned these on cassette, as well as vinyl; and now CD.  I don’t have anything profound to share. At least, nothing that would mean anything to anyone else.  These albums resonate in my memory. They take me back to my early college years.  I was quite the raging idiot in those days.  Luckily, I have come a long way since that time.

AUTHOR SIDE NOTE: The play, GODSPELL, is religious.  It is based on the Book Of Matthew, which is the section of the Bible that has to do with the life of Christ. My appreciation for this album is based on the incredible music, meaningful lyrics, and clever presentation. For the record, my spiritual path took a different direction over time. I am not proselytizing, nor do I seek to be subjected to the process. I believe everyone is responsible for their own spiritual choices. For those seeking enlightenment, please consult your local priest/minister/Imam/Shaman/ Priestess/Wise woman/ etc.

Leave a Reply

