Reverse New Years Resolutions

I never felt there was any point to coming up with New Years Resolutions for myself.  It’s not like I am completely resistant to improving myself. Change for me, however, does not seem to come naturally by announcing it publicly.  Rather than wait until the end of the year to make up tenuous personal and professional goals, I just work on improving myself during the year. I am already taking classes towards my RN-to-BSN on-line.  I suppose I can always write that best seller, with the subsequent screenplay for the next box office blockbuster. Aim high, right?

However, if one considers the futility of resolutions; it would make sense that wishing change upon others could be just as possible. So, I have decided to come up with a few of my own ‘reverse new years resolutions.’ Here they are, in no particular order:

1) I really hope that our government (State and Federal) gets their act together. Maybe putting more effort into listening to the citizenry they are supposed to represent. We do not need empty promises….or bickering….or gridlock.

2) There is a situation that some of my peers are experiencing personally that I really hope resolves itself quickly and painlessly as possible. Discretion prevents me from going into detail, but it the issue needs closure to allow healing to begin as soon as possible.

3) I would like our next president to be productive, unifying, and sane.  I would agree that the United States has lost some ground, but I like to think that there is still hope. We need a real leader.

4) For those who struggle to make ends meet, I wish them “enough.” Whether it’s food, shelter, clothing, school, training, health care, money, recreation, or whatever. I don’t think the economy has “bounced back” since it bottomed out in Fall 2008. Having been at the bottom, I know that trying to get resources – even if you are entitled to them – can be quite a battle.  Going back to school was my family’s ticket to a better life. I hope that others find their way out, too..whether it’s hard work, more school, good timing, or sheer dumb luck.

 

Leave a Reply

